Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Group Shariah Committee

Prof. Dato' Dr. Ahmad Hidayat Buang
Group Shariah Committee Chairman

PROF. DATO' DR.  AHMAD HIDAYAT BUANG, Male, Malaysian. Appointed as the Group Shariah Committee Chairman of MNRB Holdings Berhad on 2 November 2015. Shariah Committee member for Takaful Ikhlas Family Berhad (formerly known as Takaful Ikhlas Berhad) since 2002 and was subsequently appointed as the Shariah Committee Chairman for Takaful Ikhlas Family Berhad (formerly known as Takaful Ikhlas Berhad) since 2013 until its dissolution on 2 November 2015.

Professor of the Academy of Islamic Studies at University of Malaya. Previously, he was a Director for the Academy of Islamic Studies from October 2006 until February 2011. Holds a Bachelor in Shariah from the University of Malaya, Malaysia. Completed his Master in Law and Doctorate (specialising in Islamic Contracts) from University of London, United Kingdom. Former member of OCBC Al-Amin Bank Berhad and CIMB Islamic Bank Berhad’s Shariah Council. The Chairman of Shariah Supervisory Council at Bank Islam Malaysia Berhad.

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Said Bouheraoua
Group Shariah Committee member

ASSOC. PROF. DR. SAID BOUHERAOUA, Male, Algerian. Appointed as the Group Shariah Committee member on 2 November 2015. Shariah Committee member for Sinar Seroja Berhad (formerly known as MNRB Retakaful Berhad) since 1st April 2011 until its dissolution on 2 November 2015.

He completed his Ph.D in Islamic Law (Shariah), from the International Islamic Unicersity Malaysia (IIUM), Malaysia. 

He is the Chairman of the Shariah Committee at Affin Islamic Bank Berhad. He is a Director of Affin Islamic Bank Berhad and also a member of Higher Shariah Committee at the Central Bank of the Oman Sultanate.

He was also an Associate Professor at Department of Islamic Law, Ahmad Ibrahim Kulliyyah of Laws, IIUM. He is currently a Director of Research Affairs Department at the International Shariah Research Academy for Islamic Finance (ISRA) and the editor-in-chief of ISRA International Journal of Islamic Finance. He has published several books and articles in international referred journals throughout his career as Lecturer/ Researcher. He has also presented papers in international conferences and conducted training sessions in Islamic Finance in Malaysia and abroad.

Dr. Shamsiah Mohamad
Group Shariah Committee member

DR. SHAMSIAH MOHAMAD,  Female, Malaysian. Appointed as a Group Shariah Committee member on 3 November 2020. Obtained her Ph.D specialising in Fiqh & Usul Fiqh from University of Jordan. She was an Associate Professor at the Academy of Islamic Studies in University of Malaya and a Senior Researcher at International Shari’ah Research Academy for Islamic Finance (ISRA). She sits on several Shariah Committee of prestigious financial institutions and has vast experience handling Shariah issues. She is also appointed as a Member of Shariah Advisory Council of Securities Commission Malaysia, Shariah Committee of Bursa Malaysia Securities Berhad, Shariah Supervisory Council of  Bank Islam Malaysia Berhad, Shariah Committee of SME Bank and Shariah Committee of Association of Islamic Banking Institutions Malaysia (AIBIM). She was also a Shariah Advisory Council of Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) from 2013 to 2019.Her areas of specialization are Islamic Transaction

Sahibus Samahah Datuk Dr. Luqman Haji Abdullah
Group Shariah Committee member

SAHIBUS SAMAHAH DATUK DR. LUQMAN HAJI ABDULLAH, Male, Malaysian. Appointed as a Group Shariah Committee member on 3 November 2020. Obtained his Ph.D in Islamic Law of Property from University of Edinburgh, Scotland. He was the Head of Fiqh and Usul / Islamic Jurisprudence Department at University of Malaya. He currently serves as the Mufti of Wilayah Persekutuan. Sahibus Samahah Datuk Dr. Luqman is also appointed as a Registered Shariah Advisor for Malaysia Securities Commission, Shariah Committee Member of MBSB Bank, Fatwa Committee Member of Jemaah Ulama Majlis Agama Islam Kelantan, Shariah Panel Expert of Jabatan Kemajuan Islam Malaysia (JAKIM),  member of Association of Shariah Advisor in Islamic Finance (ASAS), Committee Member of Shariah Advisory Council of Amanah Raya Berhad (ARB) and Member of Administrative Committee for Wakaf MAIK – Muamalat. He is the Chairman of Madrasah Rahmaniah Pondok Lubuk Tapah, Pasir Mas, Kelantan and was a visiting Scholar at University of Edinburgh, Scotland in 2013. His areas of specialisation are Islamic Law of Property, Islamic Jurisprudence/Legal Theories and Shariah/Fiqh Textual Studies (Dirasah Nassiyyah).

Shahrir Sofian
Group Shariah Committee member

SHAHRIR SOFIAN, Male, Malaysian. Appointed as the Group Shariah Committee member on 3 November 2020. Obtained his Master in Actuarial Science at City University, London. He also holds a double degree in Economics and Islamic Studies (majoring in Shariah) from local universities.  He had serve in various departments with Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) since 1987. He served as Manager in the Financial Sector Development Department and Manager of Insurance Development Department of BNM. He also managed and led the compliance review processes.  He was involved in the formulation of Balance Score Card for Life Insurance/Family Takaful Agents under the LIFE framework, Development of Business Plan of the Insurance Development Department to be part of the Bank’s Business Plan, formulation of the policy document on direct channel, and the establishment of dedicated department (that is Islamic Banking and Takaful Department) to steer the progress and development of Islamic Financial System by providing justification for the establishment. He also has extensive experience in insurance regulations and operations.

Yang Amat ArIf Dato’ Setia Dr. Hj. Mohd. Na’im Hj. Mokhtar
Group Shariah Committee member

YANG AMAT ARIF DATO’ SETIA DR. HAJI MOHD. NA’IM HAJI MOKHTAR, Male, Malaysian.Appointed as the Group Shariah Committee member on 1 April 2021.Graduated with a Bachelor of Laws (LLB) from International Islamic University, Malaysia (IIUM). Obtained Masters in Laws (LLM) from University of London United Kingdom, and a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Syariah from National University of Malaysia (UKM).YAA Dato’ Setia Dr. is currently presiding as the Chief Judge as well as Director General of Department of Syariah and Judiciary Malaysia since 1 April 2019. YAA Dato’Setia Dr. has been appointed as the committee member of the Malaysian Consultative Council For Islam 2016 to 2018, Muamalat Specialist Committee for Jabatan Kemajuan Islam Malaysia 2016 - 2018, committee member for Reviewing and Upgrading Law of Syariah Court Evidence 2016 - 2017, committee member of the Syariah Court Practice Direction, Chairman of the Hakam Rules Committee 2015 - 2017, chairman of the Syarie Lawyer Committee 2015 - 2017, Chairman of the Syariah Court Rules Committee 2015 - 2017, Committee member of Islamic Affairs for State of Selangor, and member of Selangor Falak Committee.YAA Dato’ Setia Dr. has participated in many local and international seminars on his subject areas of specialization.  He had also presented papers on family laws, shariah subjects and related topics at many conferences local as well as overseas forums. YAA Dato’ Setia Dr. Na’im also sits on a number of Shariah Advisory Boards of local and foreign Islamic banks and takaful companies such as CIMB Islamic Bank, Salihin Trustee Bhd, Sun Life Insurance and American and British Investment Bank (Mauritius)